WHAT IS AN ANTI-HARASSMENT OR PROTECTION ORDER?  WHO CAN GET ONE?

Washington State law allows for any person to file a civil case to ask a judge to grant an order to protect them from another person whose behavior is abusive, threatening, exploitive or seriously alarming.  There are six types of protections orders:

  • Anti-Harassment Protection Order 
  • Domestic Violence Protection Order
  • Sexual Assault Protection Order 
  • Stalking Protection Order 
  • Vulnerable Adult Protection Order 
  • Extreme Risk Protection Order

Find out more about protection orders at Washington Law Help


HOW MUCH DOES IT COST?

The filing fee is $83, but you may ask to have the fee waived.
  

HOW DO I GO ABOUT GETTING AN ANTI-HARASSMENT OR PROTECTION ORDER?

Step 1. Complete and file a Petition for an Order for Protection including a law enforcement information sheet.  Forms are available:

  1. Online here. This free program asks simple questions and uses your answers to complete your protection order forms. You can choose English or Spanish forms and instructions, and answer in either language.  Once you are finished, you can either print the forms or save as .pdfs to email them;
  2. From the clerk in person at either district court; or
  3. By emailing the clerk at ghdc2@graysharbor.us.
                                Make sure that your petition is legible, complete, and you provide as much information as possible.


WHAT HAPPENS AFTER THE PETITION IS FILED?

Step 2: Review by a Judge. A judge will review your petition and any evidence you filed and determine whether you meet the requirements for any type of protection order. If you meet the legal requirements, the judge will schedule a full hearing. The judge may also issue a temporary order.  If you do not meet the requirements, the judge may deny the petition but will allow you 14 days to file additional information.

Step 3: Service on the Respondent. Law enforcement will likely serve the protection order paperwork on the restrained person for free. In some situations, you can make your own arrangements for service. The restrained person must be served at least five court days before the full hearing.

Step 4: A Full Hearing.  At the full hearing, the judge will decide whether to issue a final Protection Order. Usually, a final Protection Order lasts for at least a year, but you may ask for a shorter or longer order.


WHAT DO I DO IF I THINK THE ORDER IS BEING VIOLATED?

Call 911 and tell them the respondent has violated the order.

HOW DO I MODIFY, TERMINATE, OR RENEW A PROTECTION ORDER?

While the order is in effect, either party may file a motion to modify (change) or terminate (end) the protection order or renew an existing protection order.  The other party is served with the motion and the notice of hearing. At the hearing, the judge may modify or terminate the order for protection.

If the petitioner does not want an order to terminate after the effective date on the order, the petitioner may file a petition for renewal of the order for protection. The other party is served the motion and notice of hearing. At hearing, the court may grant the motion, and enter a new protection order or deny the motion.